Skip to content

Facebook Releases New Chat Functionality

May 11, 2009

Around 3:30pm today I noticed that Facebook‘s chat application had been upgraded. I wasn’t aware an upgrade was in the works, but the features they’ve released are extremely useful.

Your friends are now grouped by the list you assigned them to, and you can choose which lists you want to appear in the chat application.

Facebook Chat Groups Interface

Facebook Chat Groups Interface

You can also appear online selectively to these lists while appearing offline to others via a very iPhone-like toggle switch to the right of each list’s name. Re-order your lists, show Feed stories in the chat window and suppress avatars in the online user list.

Facebook Chat Options

Facebook Chat Options

Active chat sessions appear at the top of the online user list, although it seems new chat message notifications do not appear with the proper section. New message notifications are all showing next to the first session listed.

Facebook Chat Bug

Facebook Chat Bug

The best feature is that the entire chat app can now pop-out of the Facebook webpage, just like Google’s web-based Gtalk. I had just told @MCGSTUDIO and @longbrook this past Friday how nice this feature would be!

I’m not sure if every user has access to the new chat features. What do you think of the new features? Did I miss anything? What would you add to the featureset?

Advertisements
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 3:39 pm

    Pretty cool stuff, Lyell. For me it’s not a whole lot of difference because I don’t really use Facebook Chat. Oh, you’re sending me a message on FB chat. Hang on. 🙂

  2. mycreativeteam permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:43 pm

    Lyell, you may want to make sure your office isn’t bugged. Seems like Facebook is listening to you. Remember, you’re not paranoid if they really are watching you.

  3. Anonymous Coward permalink
    May 11, 2009 4:54 pm

    What I’d like to know is: if you have a “friend” (let’s call him “your boss”) who is on multiple lists (say, “Charlotte” and “work”), and you’ve set the toggle to “offline” for work, and “online” for Charlotte, which status takes priority?

    If you have to turn off all of Charlotte, just so you can appear offline to that one person, the feature isn’t very useful. (Sure, there may be other uses, but this is the important one.)

    But, if going offline on one list means you appear offline to all people on that list (even those on other lists which you’ve left online) now that could come in handy…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: